Sandal (and Loafer) Smackdown

Friends, I have a dilemma here. If you follow me on Twitter or know me in the slightest, you know I have a thing for shoes. And by “thing” I may mean a bit of an obsession. Who can blame me, though? I did grow up in a shoe store and I have worked for shoes.com and Brown Shoe. You can’t blame me, right? Last Thursday I got tired of debating the same four pairs of shoes and did something very uncharacteristic of me. I ordered them all. Now I’m not stupid enough to ruin my budget by keeping four pairs, but I am totally up for keeping at least two. I’m partial to the Sam Edelman Sophie and the Miz Mooz Macey. I have to admit that the Bass Wayfarers hold a special place in my heart. During my humble beginnings, I wore pink and white Bass saddle oxfords quite a lot. We’re talking circa 1985 or so, and I felt retro cool back then. I think the silver Wayfarers may need to stay but let’s see what you think.

Oh, and if you like what you can see of the jeans, they are American Eagle jeggings in yellow. Not too tight, not too loose…perfect for spring and the price is crazy good.

Bass Wayfarer in silver from Bassshoes.com ($130 less 50%)
They are so comfortable and the silver is a little more subdued than they show in the picture. Ironically edgy? That’s what I’m going for. I see them with black ankle-length skinnies right through fall 2012 (or until the Mayan calendar runs out). Size-wise, I usually wear a 9 1/2 and boughtt that size. They are a little big but nothing that an insole can’t fix.

Sam Edelman Sophia from endless.com ($119 less 20%)
In my book, Sam Edelman can do no wrong. Every pair I’ve ever bought feels comfortable right out of the box. This pair features both neutral leather and silver…huge for summer. I’m usually a 10 in Sam Edelman styles but the 9 1/2 fit perfectly in this style.

Kork-Ease Bette in Natural from piperlime.com ($150 less 20%)
These are pretty classic. I mean I think my 60-year-old cool aunt wore them in the ’70s. The color is a perfect nude. I usually wear a 9 1/2 and ordered these in a 9. They are a little snug but I think they would stretch.

Miz Mooz Macey in Whiskey from endless.com ($109 less 20%)
After buying my first pair of Miz Mooz sandals last year, I became hooked. They run about 1/2 size small and a little wide but the styles are retro-fabulous. This is the pair that Eddie loves. I don’t know…maybe it’s because they are a little Ginger and a little Marianne all at once? I’ll admit that they are super comfortable. They also come in lemon yellow, which makes me want two pairs of them.

So what do you think? If you have an opinion, leave it in the comments section or tweet me @shoemuse. I’ve never left a big fashion decision up to the universe, so I’m anxious (and a little scared) to see what everyone says.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adele O'Dell
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 16:05:03

    It would be hard to pick. I like the Kork-Ease Bette. I’m pretty sure our cool aunt did wear those!

    Reply

  2. Brandy
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 17:02:16

    I love the Wayfarers but you already knew that. I like the Kork-Ease on you too!

    Reply

  3. Deb Gallion
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 21:54:30

    Cool aunt weighing in! I didn’t actually wear Kork-Ease, but did have sandals in a very similar style. I really love that look – and also like the “ironic edginess” of the Wayfarers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

