Spring Trend DIY: The Neon Necklace

I’ve been keeping something from anyone who reads this blog, and it’s time that I have to come out. I am a fashion freak. I really blame my mother (sorry, Mom). She bought that shoe store eons ago and I was hooked. I would ride the bus “home” to Shoe Country (she inherited the name from the previous owner), then spend the afternoon creating window displays and trying on shoes. It didn’t help (or maybe hurt), either, that The Attic, a women’s boutique, was next door. The owners were extremely gracious and let me hang out and try things on there, too. Ignoring some of the obvious bad events, it was really a great time for me.

Cut to today. My fashion appetite is nearly insatiable. Since I’m certainly not a millionaire and I have no desire to go into debt, I usually have to find inventive ways to feed my interests (not petty theft). Often that’s shopping on sale, and these days it can be DIY projects. With a hefty price tag, Tom Binns neon painted jewelry is TDF (to die for). After looking around the web and at my local outlet mall, though, I found a way to reproduce them for my own use and thought I would share.

Here was my inspiration, ranging from $500-$700:

And here is my own, about $20 (a bit more subdued):

Not knowing how it would turn out, I chose a cheap-o rhinestone necklace from Charlotte Russe ($12.99). Gaudy is really the name of the game, so pick out something a little over-the-top but wearable for your style. I think the costume jewelry superstore Charming Charlie might be a good resource for rhinestone and chain options.

I purchased plain acrylic craft paint at Hobby Lobby for about $5 and some cheap detail brushes. Neon is so big now that neon paint is easy to find. I actually preferred the package name Caribbean Colors over the pure ’80s neon. From there, it was literally a process of painting the acrylic paint onto the rhinestones. These were big and easy to paint. If you look closely, I did get some paint on the prongs. No big deal. If you look closely at the most expensive painted rhinestone necklaces, you’ll see that those artists painted the prongs, too. The goal is uniformity. It took an hour and two coats of the paint for the finished product.

It’s been a blast to wear with nautical styles just for a little extra punch. If you decide to make one, please share! Tweet me a picture @shoemuse or message me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhonda
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 22:52:33

    I have to laugh. At the time, you and your brothers found Kangaroos to be a detour in your style journeys!

    Reply

  2. Brandy
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 07:24:32

    I love this Courtney! I’m definitely going to try it soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

