Packing Up and Moving Away from My New Roots

I know, I know. You thought I had stopped blogging, huh? Nope. My mom always told me that if I couldn’t say anything nice, I shouldn’t say anything at all. Oh, I’ve been saying plenty for my contract blogs and sites but, personally, I would’ve just griped had I actually opened up my blog dashboard. I finally feel like writing something…more for me than for anyone else.

As a military family, we’re accustomed to moving and even accustomed to moving to practically the middle of nowhere (hello, Ft. Leonard Wood, Ft. Knox, Ft. Riley, and Ft. Rucker) but the darn manager told Eddie we were headed to one of our top picks in the Southeast only to assign us to Ft. Hood, TX. I have nothing against Texas per se but, by golly, I was looking forward to some good job opportunities, tons of education options for Zoey, and (yes) some world class shopping spots. Instead we’ll be at least an hour if not more from anything “me.” After looking at school reviews in the Ft. Hood/Killeen area, it’s a safe bet to say that I will find a way to homeschool (and I am against homeschooling as a whole) before I’ll enroll Z in one of those. So here we are.

So besides the letdown of moving, I’ve realized that I do kind of like it in St. Louis. Even my tiny house is pretty nice when I consider what we’ve gone through here. I brought a new baby home here. I lost a baby here. I learned how to tile and put down flooring and decorate. And I learned to put down roots. I’ve made friends, which is NOT something I can usually say. It’s my fault 100%, but I break up with friends (totally without telling them) every single time I move. I promise to write, I promise to call. Then I disappear. I don’t want to lose track of some of my St. Louis peeps. They helped me through all the said events above.

This one is going to be a toughy. My realtor will be here in a few minutes. I’m ready but I can’t say that I’m really happy with everything this time. And I will get over it and move on but for now I’m already missing these small moments in this place I never expected to live to begin with. Maybe I’ll be saying the same about Texas in a few years?

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adele
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 16:44:27

    How long do you think you’ll be in Texas? I don’t think homeschooling will be an issue for Z. She (and you) are social enough that she won’t be missing out on that aspect. Also, you are a great teacher and you know lots of great teachers 🙂 that will help you if you need it! I’m sad that you are moving farther away. It will be harder to see each other now.

    Reply

    • cstrimel
      Feb 22, 2012 @ 16:51:48

      I think we’ll be in TX about 2 years. Probably a little more rather than a little less knowing the way the Army works. If we are able to move a distance from Ft. Hood, there may be some decent schools for Z. I was shocked to see so many and such negative reviews for that entire area. It’s sad for those who have to live on the post. Given that she would probably be in school for only 1 year of the time we were there, I could probably learn enough to do some home schooling if I really had to. Trust me…you would be one of the first I would come to for some ideas on resources! I will miss you but we’ll be back at times I’m sure.

      Reply

  2. Adele
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 17:23:18

    I follow some really great Kindergarten and 1st grade teachers on Pinterest. They are always posting great things that you could do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

