Becoming a Barre Fly…Again

When I was 3, I began what turned into a life-long love of dance. Once a week from 3 until age 16, I went flying up the steps at the Gail Herring School of Dance and then Chelle’s Dance Studio (after Gail moved) with tap, ballet and jazz shoes haphazardly thrown (with love) in a navy blue tote bag. Admittedly, about all I did the first year was hang from the barre like a little orangutan, but later I began to appreciate the grace and strength dancing gave me. Even when I became a chubby teen, I still had killer leg muscles and rock-hard abs. You couldn’t see them with a few pounds of tub but they were there.

The crazy thing I’ve learned is that despite being thinnest in my adult years, I’m much less toned than I was as a dancer…even when I was chubby. And that’s why I picked up Xtend Barre off Amazon. Both running and walking are good for me and I do enjoy it but ballet is just zen. That ache you get where your hamstrings meet your gluts after 50,000 plies? Heaven in muscle fatigue form.  Even the ab session was divine because it wasn’t just a crunch here and there. It was intense and yet comfortable all at the same time.

The result? Great! I am a big believer in muscle memory both because I know it is physiologically possible and because I’ve seen it work on my own body. I completed one (yes, 1) 55 minute session of Xtend Barre on Monday. Talk about feeling it! I generally have defined arms but they looked even better the next day. Best of all, I had great posture without much effort because I had forced myself to pull in, tuck under and lift up long enough to remember how to do it.

I’m of the opinion that a great fitness routine is NOT built upon a single method of exercise. This is going to be the one I go to when I don’t feel like exercising. If you’ve been a dancer (and even if you haven’t), this may be a great option for flexibility and strength. If you try it, let me know what you think.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JP
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 16:45:55

    I have this one too! I’ve only completed it once.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

