Been Up in the Gym Working on My Fitness, Or Day 7 of Skechers GOrun

Okay, so I couldn’t resist the Fergie song reference. I’m a card-carrying hard rocker but who doesn’t love a little Fergie sometimes?

Today marks day 7 with my Skechers GOruns. I absolutely adore them! One of my concerns had to do with barefoot running, and the possibility of funky shoes. This is so not the case. I’ve been on the treadmill every single day during my trial and they are as fresh each morning as they were on day one. So there goes that concern. The shoes are actually molding (not like the fungus) to my feet. They seem to fit and feel even better with each wear. They don’t look quite as factory-perfect now but they conform beautifully to my feet. Oh, and I have yet to wear a blister or hot spot. Unheard of, I tell you!

Here’s the best part: my knees don’t hurt at all. I mentioned last week after my first run that I didn’t have knee pain that day. I’m 7 days into it and still don’t have knee pain. I’m actually of the opinion that they perfected my stride, which has reduced the pain. I really did feel it in my Asics the day before I started this trial but not since. Perhaps this is TMI but I’ve had hormonal aches and pains (sciatica with shooting pains down my leg, hip pain, etc) since I was pregnant three years ago. During that hormonal window each month, I’ve generally been in pain since I started my foray into running. I’m still feeling some aches in my hip and back but the other pains that are exacerbated by the run are much less this month. I hate to sound like a snake oil salesman but I’m starting to wonder if it’s the shoes. I think I’ll know for sure after a couple of months of this. If it’s the GOrun style that helps, I’ll be a Skechers athletic shoes convert for life. Testify, right? (Insert goofy smiley emoticon.)

So nothing but glowing reviews so far. Along the same lines, I finally fell for the Zumba hype and ordered a set. It got here today. If you can stand another product review, look for one soon. Oh, and I also bought the Barre Method. I had outstanding gluts when I was a ballet dancer. I’m hoping it will bring some 15-year-old perkiness back to this 30-something physique.

Toodles for now.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Home Gyms
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 10:27:44

    Great post.Thanks for sharing such a useful information with us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

