Sometimes it’s the Little Things…Conversation Hearts

As my grandparents used to say, I have some irons in the fire right now. I am sick of my bedroom furniture but really can’t afford to replace it with anything of excellent quality (and at this point in my life, I want quality). A Pinterest pin inspired me to paint it a la Pottery Barn satin black. It’s looking excellent, and I am going to share the tutorial, pictures and outcome soon. It’s not ready for its debut right now. Until then, or until I am able to wax poetic, I wanted to share an extremely simple holiday decor idea. And, yes, I did find it on Pinterest.

Check out my conversation hearts centerpiece. I found the candle holder on clearance at Target a few months ago. I had no idea what I’d do with it but thought it had great potential. At Christmas I added the candle and some Epsom Salts “snow.” For Valentine’s Day, it’s Conversation Hearts. I have to admit that the candy is dwindling because Zoey actually loves the hearts. I have a hard time keeping her hot little hands out of it. But, you know, it’s hard to deny a clever 3-year-old when she makes an iron-clad case for why she deserves a treat. I do have to admit that I am a little grossed out by the “UR Hot” ones. Seriously, who says that outside of a dive bar?

I’ll warn you, I’m a Pinterest-a-holic (at least early in the morning and late, late at night). If you’d like to follow me, find me under CourtneyStrimel.

Leave a Reply

