On Cooking and Kahlua Cake

Full fat, full calories…fully delicious

My grandma could cook. And I do mean she could cook. A decade after her death, people still tell me they miss her pies, cakes, cobblers, casseroles…whatever. She really did have a knack (who else could turn a raisin pie into something nearly edible?) and that knack did not pass down to me. It’s a bit my fault, too. One Sunday she was dead-set on teaching me to make homemade biscuits. I, on the other hand, felt like it was a skill much too stereotypically “woman.” I wasn’t going to cook–or knit or have babies or stay at home–because I was going to take on the world. If I wanted a biscuit, I would buy it like every other smart, powerful, ambitious woman. (Do ambitious women actually want biscuits??) So I didn’t learn. I didn’t learn any of it. I can’t really cook. I can’t knit. I wasn’t having a baby, either, until Mother Nature thought she would take things into her own hands. Surprise!

I’ve gotten by my whole life cooking to live, and mostly living on Shredded Wheat. Between this whole molting thing–and Pinterest–I’ve developed an interest in at least trying to create gastronomic concoctions. Get this…I made blue cheese stuffed figs wrapped in prosciutto back in November. Whoa, right? I have gained a pound or two but sometimes I actually like this cooking thing. I mean, you can have a glass of wine, teach your kid a few math skills. And I’m connecting with something I chose to lose. Or maybe I never lost it because I never had it. Either way, I feel like I owe it to myself to learn. Hey, you have to eat while your growing and changing no matter how old you are.

And because I had so many hits when I posted about my Kahlua recipe, I would be remiss to talk about it. It. Was. GOOD. And I don’t feel a bit bad that I’ve had a piece of Kahlua cake every night since I made it. My legs are twitching because I’ve been running it off but, you know, fair trade. If you want the recipe, click here: Kahlua Cake Recipe from Food.com.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 10:47:18

    Delicious! Like you, I never thought I’d be staying at home kickin’ it domestic-style. Next you can make homemade yogurt (something I never thought I’d be doing, either).

    Reply

  2. Donna
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 18:29:30

    Absolutely she was the best cook. And you better get Church overwith on time so her Sunday Dinner didn’t get overcooked! I remember her often.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

