Running to Re-define Myself

I’m not good at failure. You see, I’m one of those sickening people that seems to be good at just about everything. And when I’m not…whoa. Seventh grade volleyball, for instance. I couldn’t send a “floater” serve over that damn net, which meant I had zero chance making the team. By eighth grade, I was stronger and even taller and could, in fact, send a volleyball over the net with nearly surgical precision. I didn’t try out that year (or any year after that). Why? Because I had failed the year before. I wasn’t a “volleyball player.” Suffice it to say that the same happened with every sport.

Despite my lack of athleticism, I’m not sedentary. I can’t afford to be with my family history. Strokes, heart failure…you name it, it has been suffered by someone not too distantly up my family tree. I’m not thrilled with the idea of obesity but I’m really not in favor of death or a vegetative state so I exercise. What I’ve never been able to do well is run. First it was childhood asthma, then it was…who knows?? Cut to November of 2011. One day while writing a StyleBakeryMom.com blog entry, a wild hair pushed me to look up Couch to 5K. Before long, I was immersed in the program. I put off buying shoes because “I’m not a runner,” but weeks 4 and 5 passed and I realized that maybe I had failed to define myself correctly. My tight buns and aching knees just might be proving that I was, in fact, a runner. As of today, I’m up to running 1 1/2 miles without stopping. Slow? Yep, but I’m doing it. I am a runner.

So what do I do with this new definition? Well, I take pride in the fact that I’m doing something to stay healthy and vital but I also take pride in that I just might be wrong about some of my self definitions. And maybe I can re-define myself whenever it is necessary. And maybe there’s not a thing wrong with that. I wasn’t a runner but now I am. Kind of makes me wonder what else I’ve been wrong about.

Incidentally, I highly recommend these!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shana
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 14:27:52

    Oddly enough…I am about to look up the couch to 5K for myself in the next couple of weeks…but I was looking at getting the minimal running shoes because of my knee issues. Funny how when you think you are alone in your boat, a friend rows up beside you!

    Reply

  2. Shannon
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 14:45:44

    I loved c25k. I ended up getting kayanos when I got fitted out here, and then promptly stopped running. Oops.

    Reply

    • cstrimel
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 17:05:04

      The Kayanos were my second choice. I just couldn’t find them in the price range I wanted when I needed them. You know me, always looking for a bargain.

      Reply

  3. sweetopiagirl
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 15:06:04

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 15:15:47

    I never went and got pure running shoes until a week ago when I stopped by Fleet Feet. I have to say, the shoes I got there are the most comfortable I’ve ever had. Also, the salesgirl laughed when I told her I initially thought my most recent New Balances didn’t last long enough — until I realized they had more than 300 miles on them. Oops.

    I found Asics to be too heavy for me, so I preferred New Balance – but my new ones are Brooks and are even lighter. I love them!

    Good luck to you! Want to run a 5K with me? 😉

    Reply

    • cstrimel
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 17:02:28

      Let me make sure I can even run 3 miles before I commit. I’ll have to try Brooks once I need a new pair. I was originally running in toning shoes. No wonder I had knee pain.

      Reply

  5. Donna
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 16:18:40

    There have been several things I am not in the last many years, an exercise person is one of them. I would always get sick, not just a little but pneumonia. Don’t know if it was stress or just what was the issue. I’m going to try again starting next week. This time if I get sick I’m going to keep going. My body is just going to have to cope with what I’m telling it to do!

    Reply

    • cstrimel
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 17:04:16

      Good luck! I broke my toe a few days ago but found it wasn’t too bad when running as long as I taped it and wore extra-supportive socks. I’m keeping up my vitamins plus zinc in hopes of staying healthy this winter.

      Reply

  6. Arlyne Lantzy
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 22:39:39

    I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts in this kind of area. While exploring in Yahoo I stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information, I’m glad to say that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling upon finding exactly what I needed. Certainly will not forget this web site and give it a look a relentless basis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

